Elisabeth Jean-Charles
Doctor of Chiropractic

Presentation

Chiropractic is a manual medicine

Throughout the world and since the dawn of time, illness and pain are treated and relieved by applying hands to the body. The most ancient traces of manual medicine are Chinese and Egyptian. In China, drawings dating from 3300 BC to 3200 BC suggest joint manipulation, which Chinese doctors have traditionally continued to practice. In Egypt, a fresco dating from 3500 BC suggests elbow manipulation. In the ancient western civilizations, Greece provides the first evidence of vertebral manipulation 400 years before Jesus Christ.

Daniel David Palmer founder of chiropractic

David Daniel Palmer

Daniel David Palmer was born on March 7th 1845 in Canada and died on October 20th 1913 in the United States. David Daniel Palmer is the founder of chiropractic. He developed his philosophy. He created the science and art of correcting abnormal function by manual adjustment, using the spinal processes as levers.

illustration 1st adjustment Harvey Lillard D Palmer

Illustration of the first chiropractic adjustment on William Harvey Lillard by D.D. Palmer on September 18, 1895 in Iowa.

https://www.palmer.edu/

The birth of chiropractic

David Daniel Palmer had been working as a magnetizer in Iowa for 9 years when he discovered the basic principles of chiropractic.

At that time, Daniel David Palmer met a janitor in the building where his office was located, Harvey Lillard, an African-American, who had been deaf for 17 years. Harvey Lillard would have confided to D.D. Palmer that it was after a false move that he would have felt something drop in his back and immediately lost his hearing.

D.D. Palmer after examining Harvey Lillard observed that a vertebra was out of its normal position. He thought that by repositioning this vertebra the man's hearing should be restored. After convincing Harvey Lillard he proceeded with the first chiropractic adjustment. Harvey Lillard's hearing would indeed be restored. 

Shortly afterwards D.D. Palmer receives a case of heart trouble. Again he examines the spine and finds a displaced vertebra pressing on the nerves leading to the heart. He adjusts the vertebra and the relief is immediate. D.D. Palmer then began to think that if two such dissimilar diseases came from interference, from pressure on the nerves, other diseases could be due to similar causes. The science (knowledge) and art (adjustment) of chiropractic were born. 

In 1897 the first chiropractic school opened its doors "Palmer College of Chiropractic". Although the first patient, Harvey Lillard, was a black, African-American man, the teaching at Palmer College of Chiropractic remained closed to African-American students until the middle of the 20th century.

(1) source: Beyond the "Jim Crow" experience: blacks in chiropractic education - PubMed-https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11613378/

Chiropractic today in the world

Chiropractic is an official partner of the World Health Organization (WHO).

With more than 100,000 practitioners, chiropractic is a manual health care profession that is widely practiced internationally.

Based on a comprehensive understanding of how the body works and the relationships between the spine, the nervous system and certain health disorders.

Chiropractic aims at the detection, treatment and prevention of dysfunctions of the neuro-musculo-skeletal system, in particular of the spinal column, and the resulting disorders.

Chiropractic in France

Chiropractic arrived in France in the first decades of the twentieth century, it was transmitted to doctors by a Canadian living in Paris, Dr Douglas. Chiropractic will continue to develop. In 1983, the IFC Institut Français de Chiropraxie (which later became the IFEC) was created to offer training in the profession of chiropractor. Still today it is the only school that trains chiropractors in France.

  • 2002 Chiropractic is recognized by the Ministry of Health
  • 2011 Chiropractors become the only therapists who can manipulate the spine without medical advice
  • 2013 Chiropractors register their diploma with regional health agencies and are given an ADELI number
  • 2019 A chiropractic consultation opens at the Bicêtre hospital 

Chiropractic remains little known in France (often confused with osteopathy and physiotherapy) due to the small number of practitioners.

Chiropractic is the profession that publishes the most articles in basic research on the validity and therapeutic effects of neuro-articular corrections. 

legalized chiropractic

Chiropractic adjustment a precise and painless gesture

Chiropractic treatment is based mainly on spinal manipulation, also known as chiropractic adjustment, and mobilization of the body's joints.

Chiropractic treatment is non-drug and non-invasive.

Chiropractic adjustment is a precise and painless gesture that requires a specific touch and extraordinary dexterity.

Its purpose is to:

► restore the circulation of nerve impulses by eliminating interference created by vertebral subluxations

► restore optimal joint mobility.

The vertebral subluxation or "blockage"

It is a lack of alignment or mobility between two vertebrae of the spine. It hinders the circulation of nerve impulses and, among other things, can cause muscle contractures, pain, inflammation, osteoarthritis and disturbances in the functioning of various organs and systems of the body.

The chiropractor is trained to detect these subluxations (or blockages) and correct them. The chiropractor maintains good "spinal hygiene" which would result in proper alignment of the vertebrae and optimal joint mobility. Chiropractic care focuses on the spine.

Three types of stress cause the onset of subluxation or "blockage."

► physical stress: accident, fall, false movement, unusual effort, bad posture ...

► emotional stress: death, loss of a job, relationship difficulties, repressed feelings...

► chemical stress: unbalanced diet, pollution, tobacco...

By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the installation and use of cookies on your computer, in particular for audience analysis purposes, in compliance with our privacy protection policy.

Elisabeth Jean-Charles
Docteur en chiropratique

Présentation

La chiropraxie (ou chiropratique) une médecine manuelle

À travers le monde et depuis la nuit des temps on traite la maladie et soulage la douleur par apposition des mains sur le corps. Les plus anciennes traces de médecines manuelles à peu près contemporaines sont chinoises et égyptiennes. En Chine des dessins datant de -3300 à -3200 suggèrent des manipulations articulaires dont les médecins chinois ont poursuivi traditionnellement la pratique. En Égypte une fresque datant de -3500 suggère une manipulation du coude. Dans les anciennes civilisations occidentales, la Grêce apporte les premières preuves de manipulation vertébrale 400 ans avant Jésus Christ.

Daniel David Palmer fondateur de la chiropraxie

David Daniel Palmer

Daniel David Palmer né le 7 mars 1845 au Canada est décédé le 20 octobre 1913 aux États-unis. David Daniel Palmer est le fondateur de la chiropratique. Il a développé sa philosophie. Il a créer la science et l'art de corriger les fonctionnements anormaux par l'ajustement manuel, en utilisant les processus vertébraux comme leviers.

illustration 1er ajustement Harvey Lillard D D Palmer

Illustration du premier ajustement chiropratique sur William Harvey Lillard par D.D. Palmer le 18 septembre 1895 Dans l'Iowa.

https://www.palmer.edu/

La naissance de la chiropraxie

David Daniel Palmer travaille comme magnétiseur dans l'Iowa, depuis 9 ans lorsqu'il fait la découverte des principes de base de la chiropratique.

À l'époque Daniel David Palmer rencontre un concierge du building dans lequel est situé son cabinet, Harvey Lillard, un afro-américain, qui présente une surdité depuis 17 ans. Harvey Lillard aurait confié à D.D. Palmer que c'est à la suite d'un faux mouvement qu'il aurait senti quelque chose lâcher dans son dos et perdu immédiatement l'ouïe.

D.D.Palmer après avoir examiné Harvey Lillard observa qu'une vertèbre était hors de sa position normale. Il pensa qu'en replaçant cette vertèbre l'ouïe de l'homme devrait être retrouvée. Après avoir convaincu Harvey Lillard il procède au premier ajustement chiropratique. Harvey Lillard aurait effectivement retrouvé l'ouïe. 

Peu de temps après D.D. Palmer reçoit un cas de trouble cardiaque. Là encore il examine la colonne et il trouve une vertèbre déplacée pressant sur les nerfs qui parviennent au coeur. Il ajuste la vertèbre et le soulagement est immédiat. D.D. Palmer commence alors à penser que si deux maladies aussi dissemblables provenaient d'interférences, de pression sur les nerfs d'autres maladies pouvaient être dues à des causes similaires. La science (connaissance) et l'art (l'ajustement) chiropratiques naissent alors. 

En 1897 la première école de chiropratique ouvre ses portes "Palmer College of Chiropractic". Si le premier patient, Harvey Lillard était un homme noir,  afro-américain, l'enseignement au Palmer College of Chiropractic restera fermé aux étudiants afro-américains jusqu'à la moitié du XXe siècle.

(1) source : Beyond the "Jim Crow" experience: blacks in chiropractic education - PubMed-https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11613378/

La chiropraxie aujourd'hui dans le monde

La chiropraxie est partenaire officiel de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS).

Avec plus de 100 000 praticiens, la chiropraxie est une profession de la santé manuelle très répandue à l'échelle internationale.

Fondée sur une conception globale du fonctionnement de l'organisme et des relations existant entre la colonne vertébrale, le système nerveux et certains troubles de la santé.

La chiropraxie vise la détection, le traitement et la prévention des dysfonctionnements de l’appareil neuro-musculo-squelettique, en particulier de la colonne vertébrale et des troubles qui en résultent.

La Chiropratique en France

La chiropraxie arrive en France au XXe siècle dans les premières décennies, elle est transmise aux médecins par un canadien installé à Paris le Dr Douglas. La chiropratique continuera à se développer. En 1983 l'IFC Institut Français de Chiropraxie (qui deviendra plus tard l'IFEC) est créée elle propose une formation au métier de chiropracteur. Encore aujourd'hui c'est la seule école qui forme les chiropracteurs en France.

  • 2002 La chiropratique est reconnue par le ministère de la santé
  • 2011 Les chiropracteurs deviennent les seuls thérapeutes à pouvoir manipuler la colonne vertébrale sans avis médical
  • 2013 Les chiropracteurs enregistrent leur diplôme auprès des agences régionales de santé et se voient attribuer un numéro ADELI
  • 2019 Une consultation chiropratique ouvre à l'hôpital Bicêtre 

La chiropraxie reste peu connue en France (souvent confondue avec l'ostéopathie et la kinésithérapie) en raison du faible nombre de praticiens .

La chiropraxie est la profession qui publie le plus d'articles en recherche fondamentale sur la validité et les effets thérapeutiques des corrections neuro-articulaires. 

chiropraxie légalisée

L’ajustement chiropratique un geste précis et indolore

Le traitement chiropratique repose principalement sur les actes de manipulation vertébrale dit ajustement chiropratique et de mobilisation des articulations du corps.

Le traitement chiropratique est non médicamenteux et non invasif.

L'ajustement chiropratique est un geste précis et indolore qui exige un toucher spécifique et une dextérité hors du commun.

Il a pour but de :

► restaurer la circulation de l'influx nerveux en éliminant les interférences créées par les subluxations vertébrales

► rétablir une mobilité articulaire optimale

La subluxation vertébrale ou "blocage"

C'est un manque d'alignement ou de mobilité entre 2 vertèbres de la colonne vertébrale. Elle gène la circulation de l'influx nerveux et, pourra entre autres, provoquer des contractures musculaires, de la douleur, de l'inflammation, de l'arthrose et des perturbations dans le fonctionnement de différents organes et systèmes du corps.

Le chiropracteur est formé pour détecter ces subluxations (ou blocage) et les corriger. Le chiropracteur entretient une bonne "hygiène vertébrale" qui se traduirait par un bon alignement des vertèbres et une mobilité articulaire optimale. Les soins chiropratiques sont axés sur la colonne vertébrale.

Trois types de stress causent l'apparition de la subluxation ou "blocage"

► le stress physique : accident , chute , faux mouvement, effort inhabituel , mauvaise posture ..

► le stress émotionnel : décès , perte d'un emploi , difficultés relationnelles , sentiments refoulés ..

► le stress chimique : alimentation déséquilibrée , pollution , tabac..